Campy

2015-07-16 13.36.29

The conservatory always captivates.

Every summer for 4 years now, I disappear into art camp. It’s my favorite time of year. Painting with spaghetti, crafting sketchbooks, and visiting the park’s breathtaking conservatory are definite highlights. I’m on my feet all day supervising a couple dozen kids, and it’s always a blast.

This year my hedgehogs modeled for the teens and tweens camp, we made metal foil embossed sketchbooks, learned sword fighting, and played numerous silly games. Next week is the last camp, Paint-a-Palooza. We start with blind finger painting and end with a paint slip ‘n slide.

Parents and friends often comment that I must have the patience of a saint to deal with goofy kids who enjoy making messes. What they don’t realize is that I am secretly a big kid myself. Shh.

2015-07-15 15.54.54

Transforming spaces with 2D elements.

2015-07-17 15.28.31

One camper was not into sewing a pillow. I started listing off other possibilities, and her eyes lit up when I said,”Voodoo doll?”

2015-07-17 15.28.46

This kiddo said this was not a pillow she could actually sleep on since it had pokey pipe cleaners on it. She then said,”Maybe I’ll give it to my brother.”

2015-07-17 15.35.54

These two campers were after my own heart.

2015-07-17 15.38.13

This girl fell out of a tree and took it like a champ. Brilliant artist as well.

2015-07-10 14.01.54

Gonna miss these goofballs.

4 thoughts on “Campy

    • Isn’t it great?! That was completely her own design, and we made so many jokes about how ironic it was that she was making a voodoo doll and SHE was the one that kept getting poked with a needle!

Leave a Reply

