Mmmmmagritte

hamster eye

I heart René Magritte. His work is unsettling and beautiful. My Drawing students do not appear to grasp the wonder of surreal art. So I am starting them off with some “surrealism lite”, or “diet surrealism”.
After doing several eye studies and sketches, we are now tackling a project inspired by Magritte’s “False Mirror”.
Image credited to wikiart.org

Image credited to wikiart.org

Students are to create their own concept for placing something impossible in an eye. I drew the hamster wheel example. I really should have put a bit more detail into the actual wheel spokes, but I focused more on getting the anatomy down to serve as a good example.

A basic understanding of shading is crucial to making an eye look 3 dimensional. My students are drowning. I’m thinking we should get messy with charcoal to see if blending with fingers will aid them in their learning of the value scale.

One thought on “Mmmmmagritte

Leave a Reply

