Not for You, for Me This Time

img013

 

I create a lot of art while working with my students because it encourages and motivates them to work. I would guess the majority of drawings and paintings I have done over the past year were a result of teaching.

It’s not a bad side effect by any means; I make a lot of stuff that I really like. However, I rarely have the opportunity to make art for my own personal development.

I signed up for two events. One is the Art Vs. Art competition. On “Paint Day” participants will have 4 hours to complete a painting on site to be entered in a competition. If your painting is accepted, people can vote on their favorites and even spin a “Wheel of Death” to determine how to destroy the loser.

The other is Masterpiece in a Day. This is a competition that again takes place on site during an festival known as Art Squared. You can work on a visual art piece, compose some music, or write a story or poem to enter for the chance to win cash prizes.

I’ve never done anything like this before. I used to be so self-conscious about having people watch me draw or create artwork, but since I do it around my students all them time, I’ve grown much more comfortable with it. I’m excited to have these experiences, and go public with my weird stuff 🙂

FYI, the title of this post was inspired by a Bitch & Animal song called Traffic. I encourage you to give it a listen, it’s painful and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

