Crayon Series: Drawing an Apple

So there’s this whiny teenager inside me that comes out occasionally to gripe about how hard something is. She paid a visit last night. She dropped quite a few F-bombs. Rude.

I like drawing apples. They are familiar, warm, friendly, have interesting shapes, and pleasing texture. They’re good practice for sketching value.

I was optimistic about drawing an apple with crayons. That quickly changed.

1

First off, I didn’t have quite the right colors. No biggie, right? Well, it was a bit frustrating. I really wanted a dark, dark red for the shadows. I might want to invest in one of those 200 packs of crayons.

Yeah, I was working from an image, and not from life. I’m bad like that.

Since I didn’t have a super dark red, I experimented with some warm purples. That might have been a mistake. My apple took on a very “expressive” look. Not necessarily a bad thing, but the perfectionist whiny teenager kept muttering,”Ffffffuck, fuck it, fuck-fuck!”

Oh jeez. Looking at it now, I see that I didn’t even get the contours right. Bah!

Well, there you have it. Not my worst work, but clearly I need to keep at it if I want to improve.

Leave a Reply

