Crayon Series: Drawing a Cat with a Mustache

I’d like to get more familiar with a medium I don’t typically use: crayons. I’ve seen some amazing work done with crayons, whether it’s done by the kids that come to the arts center where I work or adult professionals like Kristina Nelson.

The colors are so vivid, and good gravy do I love color!

Pink hairs

See?

So for my first assignment, I chose to draw a cat with a mustache.

 Gentleman kitty

I picked yellow paper because I thought it would offer a nice contrast with the colors I chose to work with. Plus, it was closest.

Crayons are weird. You can’t really erase anything, so you are kind of stuck with the decisions you make.  This series will be an interesting journey indeed.

3 thoughts on “Crayon Series: Drawing a Cat with a Mustache

Leave a Reply

